Mental STRENGTH ♥

“When the going gets tough, the tough get going” is one way to say it. Or, as one sports psychologist put it, mental toughness is “the ability to consistently perform toward the upper range of your talent and skill regardless of competitive circumstances.”

So this week I’ve been beating myself up big time about not losing anything on the scales & questioned why why why why why ? I trained my arse off last week literally ! & I didn’t lose a thing. WHINING like a little bitch. ‘ I GIVE UP!’

Of course I had to give myself the pep talk…

I started with, ‘ You’re a bad ass bitch regardless to the number on that scale!’

This lifestyle is more than just a number, Its built my confidence, its made me more spiritual & a happier person all round.

So why give that little voice in your head or the number on them scales the satisfaction?

YES I get it its disheartening when you feel you’ve done really well and you haven’t lost but you haven’t gained either. Maintaining is the hard part so that in itself should of been something to focus on.

Our brains are programmed are wired for bad news, 9 people could tell me I look good, I’m happy. But if the tenth person says I look tired I would fixate to that comment, one negative remark can ruin your whole day. I have found that the most critical element in developing a strong mind is figuring out how to stay positive.

Until I got on them scales I felt fantastic the best I’d felt for ages but because the number, it changed my entire way of thinking for a whole day, (Until the pep talk of course.) Being a Debbie downer won’t change it so take the bull by the horns and continue, fight on! ‘Once you replace negative thoughts with positive ones, you’ll start having positive results.’

To be mentally strong you need too..

  1. Don’t waste time feeling sorry for yourself.
  2. Don’t give away your power.
  3. Don’t shy away from change.
  4. Don’t waste your energy on things you cannot control.
  5. Don’t worry about pleasing everyone.
  6. Don’t fear taking risks.
  7. Don’t dwell on the past.
  8. Don’t make the same mistake over and over.
  9. Don’t resent anyone else’s success.
  10. Don’t give up after the first attempt.
  11. Don’t fear alone time.
  12. Don’t feel the world owes you anything.
  13. DON’T EXPECT IMMEDIATE RESULTS.

 

We all need mental strength in every aspect of our lives weather it be a training aspect, eating or relationship.

You can’t become committed or consistent with a weak mind. How many workouts have you missed because your mind, not your body, told you you were tired? How many reps have you missed out on because your mind said, “Nine reps is enough. Don’t worry about the tenth.” Probably thousands for most people, including myself. And 99% are due to weakness of the mind, not the body.

KEEP GOING!

Enjoy,

LotsOfLoveLottie x

mental-toughness-is-essential-to-success-quote-1.jpg

Leave a Reply

